MNB seal United States Bankruptcy Court
District of Minnesota
Clerk's Offices
Duluth Fergus Falls
Minneapolis St. Paul
 

Chapter 11 Filing Guidance & Fees


UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA
FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR CHAPTER 11 CASES

ATTENTION:
Do not attach payment advices, certificates of credit counseling, plans or applications to the petition and schedules! These documents must be filed separately.




Chapter 11 Filing Instructions

COMPLETE FILINGS:

Chapter 11 individual debtor(s):
(Official Bankruptcy Forms)

  Chapter 11 individual debtor(s): Documents

Important Notes

1 Petition, Schedule and Statements (in a single .pdf file)
  1. Voluntary petition (Form B1 as revised 4/13)
  2. Exhibit D (as revised 12/1/09)
  3. List of creditors holding 20 largest unsecured claims (Form 4 as revised 12/07)
  4. Summary of schedules and statistical summary of certain liabilities (Form 6 as revised 12/13)
  5. Schedules A-J (Forms 6A, 6B, 6D and 6F-H as revised 12/07, Forms 6C and 6E as revised 4/13, Forms 6I and 6J as revised 12/13)
  6. Declaration concerning debtor's schedules (Form 6 as revised 12/07)
  7. Statement of financial affairs (Form 7 as revised 4/13)
  8. Statement of compensation by attorney for debtor (Local Form 1007-1)
  9. Statement of current monthly income (Form 22B as revised 4/13)

Filed as a single PDF file.

 

2 Certificate of Credit Counseling. A list of United States Trustee, District of Minnesota approved pre-bankruptcy credit counseling agencies can be found here.  
3 Creditor Matrix. See preparation instructions for more information.  
4 Signature declaration form Pen in hand signature required by debtor(s).
5 Payment advices cover sheet and Debtor's income records (60 Days Prior to Filing) Pen in hand signature required by debtor(s).
6 Filing fee of $1213 **
   OR
Application for Individuals to Pay the Filing Fee in Installments (Form 3A as revised 12/13) AND ½ filing fee of $606.50**
FOR ELECTRONIC FILERS ONLY:
Pop-up blockers should be turned off in order to see the pay.gov pop-up window. Credit card payments can be made within 48 hours of the filing. If payment is not received, the user will receive an e-mail warning and will be blocked from filing. The user will be able to log into CM/ECF, but no filing options will be available on the Bankruptcy menu. The payment can be paid under the Utilities menu and the Internet Payments Due link. After making the payment, you may need to clear the temporary files from your browser.


Effective December 1, 2009, the Notice to Individual Consumer Debtor need not be filed if the debtor's attorney, petition preparer and/or debtor(s) have certified, by signing the appropriate section of the voluntary petition (see Local Rule 9011-4 concerning electronic signatures), that the debtor(s) received the 342(b) notice. In the absence of signed certification(s) on the petition, a separate certification, using Director's Procedural Form B 201B and attaching a copy of the Notice to Individual Consumer Debtor, Form B 201A, must be filed.


** The court cannot accept a debtor's check or credit card for the filing fee                 


Chapter 11 small business debtor:
(Official Bankruptcy Forms)

NOTE: Corporations, partnerships, associations and any other entity that is not an individual (e.g., any trust, LLC, LLP, conservatorship, guardianship, etc.) MUST be represented by an attorney
  Chapter 11 small business debtor: Documents

Important Notes

1 Petition, Schedule and Statements (in a single .pdf file)
  1. Voluntary petition (Form B1 as revised 4/13)
  2. List of creditors holding 20 largest unsecured claims (Form 4 as revised 12/07)
  3. Summary of schedules and statistical summary of certain liabilities (Form 6 as revised 12/13)
  4. Schedules A - J (Forms 6A - 6J as revised 12/07, Form 6C and 6E revised 4/13)
  5. Declaration concerning debtor's schedules (Form 6 as revised 12/07)
  6. Statement of financial affairs (Form 7 as revised 4/13)
  7. Statement of compensation by attorney for debtor (Local Form 1007-1)
  8. Proof of authority to sign and file petition (Local Form 1008-1)
  9. List of equity security holders (if debtor is a corporation and only if less than 101 holders)
  10. Balance sheet
  11. Cash flow statement
  12. Statement of operations
  13. Tax information

Filed as a single PDF file.

 

2 Creditor Matrix. See preparation instructions for more information.  
3 Signature declaration form Pen in hand signature required by debtor(s).
4 Filing fee of $1213  **  

COMPLETE FILINGS (CONTINUED):

Chapter 11 business debtor:
(Official Bankruptcy Forms)

NOTE: Corporations, partnerships, associations and any other entity that is not an individual (e.g., any trust, LLC, LLP, conservatorship, guardianship, etc.) MUST be represented by an attorney
  Chapter 11 business debtor: Documents

Important Notes

1 Petition, Schedule and Statements (in a single .pdf file)
  1. Voluntary petition (Form B1 as revised 4/13)
  2. List of creditors holding 20 largest unsecured claims (Form 4 as revised 12/07)
  3. Summary of schedules and statistical summary of certain liabilities (Form 6 as revised 12/13)
  4. Schedules A - H (Forms 6A - 6H as revised 12/07, Form 6E revised 4/13)
  5. Declaration concerning debtor's schedules (Form 6 as revised 12/07)
  6. Statement of financial affairs (Form 7 as revised 4/13)
  7. Statement of compensation by attorney for debtor (Local Form 1007-1)
  8. Proof of authority to sign and file petition (Local Form 1008-1)
  9. List of equity security holders (if debtor is a corporation and only if less than 101 holders)

Filed as a single PDF file.

 

2 Creditor Matrix. See preparation instructions for more information.  
3 Signature declaration form Pen in hand signature required by debtor(s).
4 Filing fee of $1213 **  

 

PARTIAL FILINGS:

NOTE: PARTIAL FILINGS ARE DISCOURAGED

ATTORNEYS OR DEBTORS WHO FILE PARTIAL CASES MUST SERVE THE MEETING OF CREDITORS NOTICE ON ALL CREDITORS NOT LISTED ON THE ORIGINAL MATRIX AND ADD THOSE CREDITORS TO THE COURT'S MATRIX. SEE LOCAL RULE 2002-1(d).

Chapter 11 individual debtor(s):
(Official Bankruptcy Forms)

  PARTIAL Chapter 11 individual debtor(s): Documents

Important Notes

1 Petition, Schedule and Statements (in a single .pdf file)
  1. Voluntary petition (Form B1 as revised 4/13)
  2. Exhibit D (as revised 12/1/09)
  3. List of creditors holding 20 largest unsecured claims (Form 4 as revised 12/07)

Filed as a single PDF file.

 

2 Certificate of Credit Counseling. A list of United States Trustee, District of Minnesota approved pre-bankruptcy credit counseling agencies can be found here.  
3 Creditor Matrix. See preparation instructions for more information.  
4 Signature declaration form Pen in hand signature required by debtor(s).
5 Filing fee of $1213 **  
OR
Application for Individuals to Pay the Filing Fee in Installments (Form 3A as revised 12/13) AND ½ filing fee of $606.50**
 

Chapter 11 business debtor:
(Official Bankruptcy Forms)

NOTE: Corporations, partnerships, associations and any other entity that is not an individual (e.g., any trust, LLC, LLP, conservatorship, guardianship, etc.) MUST be represented by an attorney

  PARTIAL Chapter 11 business debtor: Documents

Important Notes

1 Petition, Schedule and Statements (in a single .pdf file)
  1. Voluntary petition (Form B1 as revised 4/13)
  2. List of creditors holding 20 largest unsecured claims (Form 4 as revised 12/07)
  3. Proof of authority to sign and file petition (Local Form 1008-1)

Filed as a single PDF file.

 

2 Creditor Matrix. See preparation instructions for more information.  
3 Signature declaration form Pen in hand signature required by debtor(s).
4 Filing fee of $1213 **